Artist Terri Mae Owens “Been Yah” Sculptures with Sweetgrass Baskets: Charleston South Carolina


Please check me out on Instagram  #Beenyahdollsculptures

My “Been Yah” Sculptures were first created in the early 1990’s from a vision I had early one morning while it was still dark outside. In the 90’s, I made doll’s holding Sweetgrass Baskets which I affixed to a wreath with dried flowers, pop corn berries, a large bow, and a make shift stand that looked like a replica of the the historic stands seen along hwy 17 in Mt.Pleasant, where sweetgrass baskets hung.

IMG_2956

$225.00

Hand Painted Fiber and Materials Sculptures

IMG_2958

$150.00

Made from Paper and cotton materials

IMG_2994

$225.00

“Been Yah” Sculpture with Palmetto Roses and small Sweetgrass Basket

Sculptures are Perfect for Birthday Gift Collecting

IMG_2961

$150.00

“Been Yah” Doll Sculpture on book shelf

Polka Dot “Been Yah” with Sweetgrass Basket and Petite Roses

IMG_2968

IMG_2969

IMG_2970

“Been Yah” Candy Stripe Doll with velvet red ribbon, Sweetgrass Basket and Petite Palmetto Roses

$125.00

IMG_2972

Unique Home Interiors

“Been Yah” Tye Dye Sculpture with Palmetto Roses

Price $ 325.00

IMG_2973

Price $80.00

IMG_2974

IMG_2975

Cute Art Addition for Girls Room

“Been Yah” Sisters with Sweetgrass Baskets

$180.00

IMG_2977

Price of “Been Yah” Sculpture wearing pantsuit and holding Rings

Small Doll Sculpture $90.00

Large Doll Sculpture $180.00

These are a few of the first baskets I made when I started sewing baskets again.  They are not perfect, but sewing baskets is an artistic craft, so I am still proud of them.

*Basket is included: Price on this doll does is not inclusive of basket.

IMG_2978

Price $90.00

IMG_2980

“Been Yah” Sculpture with Garden Sweetgrass Basket

IMG_2981

Price $125.00

“BEEN YAH” SCULPTURES W/ SWEETGRASS BASKETS

IMG_2992

IMG_2994

“Been Yah” Sculptures

IMG_2982

IMG_2988

Been Yah Sculpture with Sweetgrass Basket PopCorn Berries and and Palmetto Roses

IMG_2989

$60.00 Each Made of Paper, Cotton Materials and Fibers.

“Been Yah” Sculpture with Sweetgrass Basket, Popcorn Berries and Palmetto Rose

IMG_2997

DOLL SCULPTURES W/

SWEETGRASS BASKETS

IMG_2998

$125.00

“Been Yah” Hippie Sculpture

IMG_3040

$150.00

“Been Yah” Sculpture with Sweetgrass Basket

I consigned the dolls holding Sweetgrass Baskets to the “Country Bumpkin,” in Mt. Pleasant, and I proudly consigned a few of my wreaths to the Gibbs Art Gallery Gift Shop, before leaving Charleston, and moving to New Jersey in 1993.

In 2012, while going through a very difficult personal experience, I discovered that I could create paintings.  Each idea was brought to me in the same manner.  Because of this, I feel that I can’t take credit for anything I create because it is my inner being who wakes me up before dawn, and gives me a vision of what she wants me to create.

I do not have a name for the source energy within me that speaks clearly to my consciousness, but I think many people would relate to what I am describing as inspiration from God.

The first sculptures were created in January, 2017, after I had worked almost four months to create a portfolio of art to apply to a graduate program.  Creating the Been Yah  Sculptures were a welcome change from the pressures of creating my portfolio.

IMG_2995

“Been Yah” Sculpture with small Sweetgrass Basket

These sculptures with basket is the perfect addition to a reception area of pediatrics office.

Orange and White Polka Dots Print w/Black & White and Floral Print

Sculpture with Small Palmetto Roses and Small Sweetgrass Basket not shown.

$150.00

IMG_2996IMG_3016

$550.00  Large Sculpture

$125.00  Small  Sculpture

Sit on Foyer Table

IMG_2992

Price $125.00

“Been Yah” Doll Sculpture w/small Sweetgrass Basket and Palmetto Roses

IMG_2314[1]

Acrylic on Paper

I named my sculptures “Been Yah Sculptures because I was born in Charleston, a City that I love; however, when I look around the City of Charleston, I am disappointed that I see growth that has displaced many black families, and economic wealth that does not reflect the reciprocity of a significant amount of African-Americans.

IMG_2883

“Four Corners of Law” Meeting and Broad Street Downtown Charleston, S. C.

IMG_3045

“Been Yah” Nana

$125.00

IMG_3046

Dah “Been Yah” Sculpture

$500.00

IMG_2300[1]

Acrylic on paper

“Been Yah’s”

IMG_3048

IMG_3055

“BEEN YAH” DOLL SCULPTURES WITH SWEETGRASS BASKETS

IMG_3056

Price $225.00

IMG_3057

Pink and White Polka Dot w/Colorful Basket Print

Been Yah Doll with two small sweetgrass baskets

IMG_3058

Price $ 1, 500.00

IMG_3061

IMG_3062

Been Yah Doll Handmade Sculpture

IMG_3063

Been Yah Doll Handmade Sculpture

IMG_3066

Price $1,500.00

IMG_3068

IMG_3003

IMG_3009

Perfect Accent for Girls Room

Price $90.00

IMG_3011

p

                                         Green, black and white

$225.00

Been Yah Doll with small Sweetgrass Basket and Palmetto Roses.

I make my palmetto roses different from most of the roses sold around the market area.

IMG_3012

Been Yah Doll with Powder Blue & White Polka Dot Skirt with Vintage Print Blouse Sold with Medium Size Sweetgrass Basket.

Price $550.00

IMG_3014

Face and Hair is Hand Painted with Acrylic Paints

Sweetgrass Basket can be held in hand or displayed separately.

$550.00

IMG_3015

IMG_3016

Small Been Yah Doll Sculpture with sweetgrass basket $125.00

IMG_3018

Price $80.00

Small Been Yah Doll w/ Sweetgrass Basket one of the first I made since revisiting sewing my baskets. No additional charge added for the basket.

IMG_3019“Been Yah” Auntie

Body Made of Paper/ Clothing Fabric

Hand painted Acrylic Paints

$150.00

IMG_3021

Price $225.00

IMG_3023

IMG_3024

Something Different Sweetgrass Sculpture w/ earring

Not For Sale

IMG_3026

Girl Sculpture w/ Earring Made of Sweetgrass

Just For the Fun of It

IMG_3027

IMG_3028

Sadie Been Yah Doll

IMG_3032

Price $225.00

IMG_3033

Been Yah with quilted Dress

$225.00

IMG_3034

IMG_3035

Safi “Been Yah”

$130.00

IMG_3036

Perfect for Night Table

IMG_3037

Price $120.00

Louisa “Been Yah”

Dress White Cotton Fabric with Black and White Polka Dot sleeves.

IMG_3038

Sista Sarah Been Yah

IMG_3040

Sista Sarah Been Yah w/Small Sweetgrass Basket

IMG_3041

Sista Sarah Been Yah Doll Sculpture holding Sweetgrass basket

$160.00

IMG_3042

Large “Been Yah” Girl made of Paper

$300.00

IMG_3043

IMG_3044

Large Been Yah Baby With Red & White polka Dot top with checked bottom

$300.00

Billions of dollars are being made in the City, and it is my hope that the faces of more black business owners will benefit from being present in the flow of tourist activity throughout the city, so that a more eclectic and diverse  representation of the talents, especially of those “Been Yahs” will have an opportunities to have their talents show cased in downtown Charleston. “Been Yah, ” a Gullah term that simply means I was born here.

I made sweetgrass baskets as a child, and I have recently revisited sewing baskets. I am proud to sit and sew my baskets with basket ladies and men, whose artistic talents represented in their baskets are among some of the the finest baskets created in the city. .

IMG_2900.JPG

“Been Yah” Doll Sculptures

Original Artwork by Terri Mae Owens

Charleston, South Carolina


“Been Yah Doll Sculptures” with Sweetgrass Baskets

IMG_2941

Original Artwork by Terri Mae Owens

Charleston South Carolina Meeting and Broad Street (“Four Corners of Law”)

IMG_2909

When you visit Charleston, Please stop by at Meeting and Broad Street (“Four Corners of Law,”) to purchase one of my Been Yah Doll Sculptures with Sweetgrass Basket.

Artist: Terri Mae Owens

IMG_2940

Original Art “Been Yah” Dolls with Sweetgrass Baskets

Artist Terri Mae Owens

IMG_2930

All sales are final 

Hello!

Thank you for your interest in my “Been Yah” Doll Sculptures

Please contact me through the form below to inquire about purchasing one of my sculptures.  Each piece of art is uniquely designed, hand sewn and hand painted.

Sculptures are shipped free of charge within the United States.

Start a collection.

Leave a Reply

